My Winter Skincare Routine

I’m always purchasing new skincare in an attempt to find the perfect products to suit my skin. I’m not 100% there yet and my skin is constantly changing so I don’t think I will ever get there but all of the products I’m going to mention have worked wonders for skin and really helped improve its condition. I have had spots for as long as I can remember (although I probably didn’t start getting them until secondary school but it just feels like forever). It’s like I’m constantly on a roller coaster; one minute my skin is really improving and beginning to look clear and the next it’s back to square one. It’s the worst during the lead up to & during my monthly. My current skincare routine has quite a lot of steps and involves quite a few products, so some of you who only use a makeup remover might be thinking it’s a bit over the top, although  it’s not as extreme as some peoples, so shhh 😉

In the Morning…

The first thing I do skincare wise when I wake up it swipe some micellar cleansing water over my face and neck using a cotton pad to remove any dirt and make myself feel nice and fresh. The one I’m using at the moment is the ‘Simple’ version but I think that once this bottle has ran out I’m going to go back to my trust ‘Garnier’ one just because I don’t like how the simple one has a screw off life so I’m always forgetting to screw it back on so have knocked it over a few too many times…

Using a cotton ball I apply my Tea Tree Skin Clearing Toner from The Body Shop over my face and neck. It may sound strange but I can actually feel this working beneath my skin and I just love it! Also, tea tree is a really good ingredient to help fight spots as it has antibacterial properties.

img_6882

Finally, I apply my No7 (By Boots) Beautiful Skin Day cream for Normal/Oily skin because even though I have oily skin it’s really important to apply moisturiser because by dehydrating the skin it will just make the oil glands go crazy and produce even more oil – which I really don’t want! I also mix a bit of this moisturiser with my primer just to help my makeup go on to my skin nicely – Top tip for ya!

img_6883

My morning skincare routine is quite simple because I’m always running late in the morning despite how early wake up, its just a special gift I have. But my night routine is a little bit more busy…

In the Evening…

I take my makeup off as soon as I come home and am not going out in the evening using the same micellar cleansing water I used in the morning. & I NEVER go to sleep with it on because that is just a NO NO, so please be kind to your skin and just don’t do it, okay? 🙂

Whilst in the shower, I use The Body Shop Seaweed Pore-Cleansing Exfoliator making sure to move my fingers in small circular motions in order to scrub my face gently and remove off any dead skin cells. This exfoliator leaves my skin feeling really smooth and by removing the dead skin cells it help my skin glow as well as allowing makeup to be applied more smoothly the next day.

After using the exfoliator I then use 1 or 2 pumps of the Clinique Anti-Blemish Solutions Cleansing Foam and gently massage it over my wet skin. This literally leaves my skin looking squeaky clean!

img_6888

Once out of the shower I might apply a face mask – but I only do this about twice (sometimes 3 times) a week. I recently purchased the Himalayan Charcoal Purifying Glow Mask from The Body Shop and Oh. My. Goodness. This stuff is A.M.A.Z.I.N.G. The pot it comes in is so luxurious and when I apply it I instantly feel like I’m at a spa. After only using this a few times I can definitely say that it does help purify the skin. The only down side of this mask is that it does sting a little when first applied but as the mask dries the stinging stops. But I think it’s worth it as the stinging really isn’t that bad and the result are really good!

img_6887

img_6889

Another recent purchase of mine from the Body Shop (ermm can you tell I spend way too much money at the Body Shop??) is the Oils of Life Intensely Revitalising Eye Cream-Gel. I ordered this online so as quite shocked when it arrived as I was expecting it to be a lot bigger than it was, but I guess that’s the danger of online shopping! But I still think it’s worth the money because although the part isn’t very big, I’ve found you only need to use the tiniest dab of product to generously coat the entire eye so it will last a really long time! My skin around my eyes has gotten really dark, probably because of lack of sleep, so hopefully this will help brighten my eye area & I truly believe it will because it promises on the back of the bottle that after 2 weeks of use they dark circles will be lighter. Look how shimmery it is!!

img_6884img_6885

I then apply a layer of Witch Overnight Clearing Serum over my entire face, & I have to say this is my FAVOURITE PRODUCT out of everything! I’ve used it for about a year now and I just love it. I always buy extra’s because I once ran out of it and didn’t buy it again for a while and during that time my skin when downhill. It really does work! I’m on my 3rd bottle I think and I’ve got another one waiting for when this one runs out. So yeah, can’t really say anymore apart from I fricken love this!

FINALLY, (well done to all of you impressive people who have made it this far without falling asleep) I dab some Freederm Gel directly on my spots. This is my second favourite product because I only started using it about a month ago but it’s just fab! I’ve also stocked up on this because I don’t want to run out. It really helps to calm angry spots down and dry them out…It’s my life saver!

img_6890

Well there you have it – my Winter Skincare Routine! Hope you enjoyed reading about my lengthy routine and maybe got some product inspiration.

I would love to know what your favourite skincare product is?Xx

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Great routine! We love using cleansing oil to take our makeup off in the Winter. It’s so hydrating! xx, Britta & Carli from http://twinspiration.co/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. kristyhart says:

      Oo I’ve never tried a cleansing oil before! Sounds fab girls☺️Xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely and I have tried that mask as a sample from TBS and I love it

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

